Mixing skin tones (painting)

I found these images (explaining how to mix paints to achieve different skin tones) incredibly useful so I wanted to share them. They are from from “Painting the Head in Oil” by John Howard Sanden. (Special thanks to Jayne Brophy for letting me know about the source!) Also, make sure to check out my new site Fantastic Anatomy!

mixingskintones-white-female

mixingskintones-black-male

mixingskintones-white-male

A mysterious adventure awaits… But do you dare? Fantastic Anatomy!

4 thoughts on “Mixing skin tones (painting)

    1. Yes, good idea. What book is it from? I got the image from my Academy of Arts class and I don’t remember them referencing that it was from a book. Let me know the book name and I will definitely add it to this post. Thanks!

      Like

  1. These images are from “Painting the Head in Oil” by John Howard Sanden. It would be nice if you could credit him on the image as this is now being reposted on Pinterest.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

